Wishful eyes

November 14, 2007

she sent me her picture
an incomplete sketch
along with a mirror
to perceive the image

her wishful eyes
without a face
gazed at me
and said

I love to walk a long road
but I hate to be a lonesome wanderer
I love to walk a long road
but I hate to be a lonesome wanderer

by the time I took to the stage
people’d left to collect their wage
so I sang to the dead souls
who looked older than their age

they were free from all desires
they were free from all desires

but her wishful eyes
without a face
gazed at me
and said

I love to walk a long road
but I hate to be a lonesome wanderer
I love to walk a long road
but I hate to be a lonesome wanderer.

_________nocturnal

Leave a Reply

